Home > News, Xbox 360 > Quash finally gets an Xbox 360

Quash finally gets an Xbox 360

Yes, finally! been planning this for months but there’s always that game to buy or a bill to pay that prolonged me from buying my Xbox 360. I had the money for the unit, so I made sure I’d get it by the end of the week to prevent me from spending the money. It’s beside my PS3 and their both staring at each other wondering which will be used the most.

Of course, most of the attention is going to be on the Xbox 360, I have to test the unit out for any problems. I got the Xbox 360 Slim with 250GB Hard Drive , and it’s Kinect ready. I didn’t bother getting the Kinect because getting it would bring me over budget, plus I didn’t get the 360 to become the controller, I wanted it for its exclusive games and Xbox Live. Kinect is an amazing product, but i can’t afford to get it right away, maybe in the future I’ll grab the Kinect to dance like a fool.

First game for my Xbox 360? well this was a no brainer for me. Halo: Reach was my instant pick when they asked me if i was getting a game. I also wanted to buy Alan Wake together with Reach but the store was out of stock, bummer i know,  but when i brought the unit home though, my cousin offered his Alan Wake digital copy, he told me to just download it and play the game on his account. Thank you Martin for Alan Wake. Sadly, I can’t play the game on my account, so all the achievements i earned goes to his account, which is cool since all i want is to play the game, saves me some money, or I might get some other exclusive game.

For all the Filipinos out there, I bought the Xbox 360 in iTech in their Glorietta 3 branch. iTech is pretty much the next best thing if Datablitz doesn’t cut it for you. I hardly make purchases in iTech, but each time, they provide great service. The clerk that assisted me when I was testing the unit at the store was very well-informed and kept giving me what to do and what not to do. Their simply not those sellers that has no idea what their selling.

The total damage in pesos was P19,500 in total. The 250GB Slim will cost P15,290, but since I paid in cash, i get a discount which brough the price down to P14,500. I also bought an extra wireless controller with a play and charge kit that cost P2,700, then Halo: Reach which cost about P2,000, and a HDMI cable for P300. The pice was perfect, it fit perfectly in my 20k budget. Grabbing the Kinect would have brought the price somewhere between 22k to 25k. So far, I’m happy with the buy. Perfect time to get the 360 since not that many interesting games are out right now besides Catherine, and Gears of War 3 is coming out soon.

Going to end this post now, need to start episode 4 of Alan Wake…..

  1. Pnoy
    August 2, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Cool Bro! Nice gaming setup! You can lurk on the pinoyxbox forum if you need some cheap excellent games 😀 of course you need an account to get to the buy and sell section, kudos to you Quash! hope we get good exclusive reviews of 360 exclusives. BTW don’t forget about your PS3 after having the 360 hehe

    • August 2, 2011 at 3:50 pm

      Thanks! I actually did sign up for pinoyxbox forums awhile back, will definitely be more active over there. With regards to ignoring my PS3 after getting my 360, don’t worry, I’ll make sure I give both of them equal treatment.

  2. Byatch
    August 2, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    Just in time for the party Quash! GOW 3 is about to be launched this September, I believe you must first finish 1 & 2 to know the story.

    • August 2, 2011 at 7:52 pm

      Oh I’ve played the campaign for Gears 1 and 2 at a friends house way back, so I’m pretty updated with the story. Only thing i did not experience is the Multiplayer which is a bummer. Gears of War 3 is definitely in my day one buy list for September.

  3. Byatch
    August 2, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    As Fenix says NNNICE!.. good to go! you gotta try the horde mode on multiplayer then. So many players are playing now since GOW3 will be released very soon.

  4. brooks
    August 2, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    quick! get Limbo man!

    • August 3, 2011 at 3:12 am

      Definitely!

  5. August 3, 2011 at 12:41 am

    Awesome! Congrats on joining the 360 club! Dude, we have the same play & charge controller! That thing rules… it’s the only 360 controller with a usable d-pad, lol.

    Are you going to review Alan Wake?

    • August 3, 2011 at 3:11 am

      Thanks! yep that I only got that 360 controller for the play & charge, didin’t notice the awesome d-pad until i started playing, i can feel the difference in Alan Wake haha

      Yes I’ll be doing the Alan Wake review , I’m halfway done, and will start collecting my thoughts about it soon.

  6. Fernando Gago
    August 3, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    Awesome! welcome Quash!~ I hope you enjoy your new 360 🙂

    Maybe in the future you can make a review on which Halo title is the best and the worst :))

  7. Han
    August 4, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Traitor! >_<

    I thought you were loyal with Sony 😦

    • August 4, 2011 at 6:55 pm

      Traitor? I never had loyalty to any of the consoles or companies, I’ve always wanted to get these two great consoles side by side in my setup. Why should I limit myself by sticking to one console? when one console can offer something the other can’t?

      I think i got the best of both worlds right here, loyalty is not my concern.

    • Migoy
      August 5, 2011 at 7:10 am

      lol

    • brooks
      August 6, 2011 at 12:20 am

      oh man its true, Sony/PS3 fanboys are the worse of them all

      Congratulations to you Quash! I hope you enjoy your new console 😀 btw are you planning on getting xbl gold account?

      I’ve been sticking on my PS3 for a few months, so many good titles are coming on 360 starting next month 😀

      • August 6, 2011 at 1:33 am

        Thanks! I actually am, I’m currently using the 1 month free then when that’s up ill be make my account gold again but for 1 year.

  1. August 22, 2011 at 6:37 am

Leave a Reply

